
The Chevrolet Bolt EV is a compact, front-wheel-drive battery-electric hatchback sold for the 2017-2023 model years. It uses one electric motor and a liquid-cooled lithium-ion battery, rather than a choice of gasoline or hybrid powertrains. Chevrolet ended Bolt EV production after the 2023 model year.
For a seller, the important starting point is that the Bolt EV is not one uniform used-car listing. A buyer looking at your vehicle will want to know its model year, trim, charging equipment, battery-recall history, present battery condition, and whether the car has the equipment shown in the listing. Those details make the difference between a generic estimate and a credible assessment of your specific vehicle.
The first generation runs from 2017 through 2021. Early LT and Premier versions share the same front motor and battery within their respective battery generation, but their equipment can differ. The refreshed 2022 and 2023 cars use the 1LT and 2LT names. The 2022 1LT and 2LT both have the same 65 kWh battery and 259-mile EPA rating, while their equipment differs.
It is also worth distinguishing the Bolt EV hatchback from the related Chevrolet Bolt EUV. They share much of their electric hardware and recall history, but they are separate body styles with separate configurations. A buyer comparing listings will treat your exact model, trim, and options as the relevant vehicle, not as an interchangeable version of another Bolt.
That matters most with charging. DC fast charging was offered as equipment on some Bolt EVs rather than being present on every vehicle. A buyer planning longer trips will ask whether your car has it, while another buyer may care more about the Driver Confidence equipment or the difference between an LT and a Premier or 2LT. The right description is specific, not a broad claim that every Bolt EV is equipped the same way.
The battery is equally central. The 2017-2019 Bolt EV is rated at 238 miles by the EPA, while the 2020-2023 version is rated at 259 miles. Those are new-vehicle EPA ratings, not a promise about the range available from a particular used car on a particular day. Weather, speed, climate use, charging habits, and battery state of health all affect displayed and real-world range.
If you are considering a sale, gather the basics a serious EV buyer will ask for: your VIN, trim, mileage, whether DC fast charging is fitted, any battery-recall paperwork, and clear photos of the vehicle. That gives an EV-specific assessment a better foundation than a generic guidebook figure.
The Bolt EV has two clear battery and range groups. Knowing which group your car belongs to gives you a useful way to describe it accurately, while the trim tells a buyer what equipment is included.
Every Bolt EV has a single front electric motor, so there is no all-wheel-drive or performance-motor configuration to sort through. The significant configuration questions are instead the battery generation, trim level, charging equipment, safety equipment, and condition of the battery and drive system.
The 2017-2021 naming is LT and Premier. The Premier is the up-line trim, with more comfort and available driver-assistance equipment than the LT. For 2022 and 2023, Chevrolet renamed the two trims 1LT and 2LT. The 1LT and 2LT have the same battery, motor, and EPA range, so the distinction is primarily equipment. Factory DC fast charging and Driver Confidence packages are options or equipment groups, not separate trims. Confirming them from the vehicle or its original equipment list prevents an incomplete listing.
The battery recall history is also configuration-specific information. Some affected Bolt EVs received replacement battery modules, while others received diagnostic software. Do not assume a model year tells the full story. A VIN recall lookup and any repair records are more useful than a general statement that the recall was completed. If a battery recall remains open, follow NHTSA's interim instructions for that campaign, including outdoor parking where NHTSA directs it, until the remedy is completed.
Chevrolet's high-voltage propulsion battery and covered electric drive components have 8 years or 100,000 miles of coverage from the original in-service date, whichever comes first. That coverage transfers at no cost to a subsequent owner. Earlier Bolt EV model years are generally closer to the time limit, while a 2022 or 2023 car can still have years of coverage remaining, depending on its original in-service date and mileage. Coverage is useful background for a buyer, but the practical question in a used-car sale is the vehicle's present battery and drive-unit condition.
Software is another detail worth getting right. The Bolt EV has vehicle-control, battery-management, and infotainment software that can receive updates through service work. Current battery diagnostic software matters on vehicles affected by the battery campaigns. Separately, an infotainment update or a healthy 12-volt battery can resolve issues that otherwise look like larger EV problems, such as warning messages or a frozen screen. Describing completed updates and any current warnings clearly helps a buyer understand the actual car in front of them.


Owners sell for reasons specific to this vehicle and to where they are in ownership:
Your lease is ending, and you want a straightforward sale rather than another dealership visit.
You are moving to a vehicle with more passenger or cargo space, such as a larger electric SUV.
A second vehicle is sitting unused, and you no longer need to maintain or insure it.
Your driving needs have changed, and the Bolt EV's hatchback layout no longer fits your routine.
You are moving and want to sell before arranging transport for the car.
You want to avoid explaining battery-recall records, charging equipment, and EV range to private buyers.
If any of that describes your situation, the next section is the answer.

Selling a Bolt EV privately can work well when you have time for messages, test drives, and detailed questions. It also means explaining whether DC fast charging is fitted, what trim you have, what battery work was completed, and how the car charges. A prospective buyer can check recall completion through NHTSA, but gathering the VIN information, records, and answers is still work you have to manage.
A dealer trade is another route. Some dealerships have limited EV buyer demand or price an EV as a wholesale unit that needs to move quickly. A conventional mileage formula also misses factors that matter on a Bolt EV, including battery condition, drive-unit condition, and its enabled equipment. That does not make either option wrong, but it can leave you doing more of the work to explain why your specific car differs from a generic used-car listing.
We buy your Bolt EV directly from you, nationwide. We start with a real offer, usually in under 15 minutes, using transaction data from EVs we have actually bought and sold. There is no obligation to accept it, and your offer remains available for seven days.
Our assessment is built for an EV. We confirm the configuration and mileage, then review the condition of the battery and drive unit. We also check software-enabled and installed equipment that meaningfully changes the vehicle's configuration. Mileage matters, but it is one input among the EV-specific details, not a gas-car depreciation shortcut.
The offer is the amount you take home. We do not add paperwork, transport, processing, closing, or pickup deductions. We lead with our best number and do not negotiate or build in room for back-and-forth. It changes only if the guided smartphone self-inspection identifies something material that was not reported.
After you accept, one EV buying expert stays with you from offer through pickup. The self-inspection takes about 15 minutes on your smartphone, on your time. We arrange free pickup from your driveway anywhere in the United States and handle title transfer and DMV paperwork. If there is a loan, we pay your lender directly. For a lease, we coordinate the payoff with the leasing company, which typically takes two to three weeks.
Start your Bolt EV offer when you are ready, then accept or decline within seven days at no cost.
We confirm whether your Bolt EV is a 2017-2021 LT or Premier, or a 2022-2023 1LT or 2LT. We also verify mileage, the battery generation, and equipment such as factory DC fast charging and Driver Confidence features.
We assess overall condition alongside battery state of health and drive-unit condition. For a Bolt EV, current warnings, charging behavior, battery-recall repair details, and the 12-volt battery can help explain the vehicle's present condition.
We confirm current battery diagnostic and vehicle-control software where relevant, plus enabled or installed equipment that differentiates your exact Bolt EV. We also note whether infotainment or control-module updates address any reported issue.
We compare your exact Bolt EV configuration, condition, mileage, and enabled equipment with real EV transactions, then account for demand in your location. That is more useful than applying a national average to every Bolt EV.
We make one transparent offer based on battery condition, drive-unit condition, software-enabled features, and mileage. It holds for seven days, with no negotiation or back-and-forth, and changes only if the smartphone self-inspection finds something material that was not reported.
“My offer was much more than Tesla, Carvana, and Carmax. Didn't have to take my car anywhere.”
“I was a little nervous selling my car online, but Anita gave me the assurance I needed the whole way.”
“The process was really easy and smooth. No last-minute tricks like you get at dealerships.”
“We were skeptical at first, but checked Reddit and Google to make sure these guys are legit.”
Yes. For a financed Bolt EV, we pay your lender directly. For a leased Bolt EV, we coordinate the payoff with the leasing company, which typically takes two to three weeks, and you sign the buyout authorization.
No. The sale process is remote: you complete a guided self-inspection on your smartphone, and we arrange free pickup from your driveway. We handle title transfer and DMV paperwork as part of the process.
The high-voltage propulsion battery and covered electric drive components have an 8-year, 100,000-mile warranty from the original in-service date, whichever comes first. Chevrolet states that this coverage transfers at no cost to a subsequent owner, subject to the warranty terms.
A new 2017-2019 Bolt EV was EPA-rated at 238 miles, while a new 2020-2023 Bolt EV was rated at 259 miles. Your current range depends on battery state of health, weather, speed, temperature, and climate use.
Battery-recall history is an important detail because buyers commonly ask whether the remedy was completed and whether current diagnostic software is installed. Check your VIN for open recalls, keep repair records available, and follow NHTSA interim instructions, including outdoor parking, if an applicable battery recall remains open.
You can sell your Chevrolet Bolt EV directly to Plug anywhere in the United States. Most sellers receive a real offer in under 15 minutes, with no obligation to accept and no fees deducted from the accepted offer.